108 Names of the Sun: Surya Ashtottara Shatanamavali #13

Om Visvarupaya Namaha, Salutations to the all-inclusive all-pervading cosmic form of the Lord, self-manifested as the universe. The Sun is that which is seen, that which is known as the shape and form of the manifest Universe.


vishwa Hin., San. adj. entire, all (of creation), whole (manifestation); universal, all-pervading Hin. m., San. n. the all, the universe, the world.
vishwa-rūp, vishwa-swarūp Hin. m. vishwa-rūpa, vishwa-swarūpa San. n. God revealed – the all-inclusive all-pervading cosmic form of the Lord, self-manifested as the universe. Vishwa-rūpa mahākāya – the entire universe is his body.

Roop, rupa, means that which has form. swa-rup means body+form, specifically referring to your body. You are a swarup, surrounded by kosas, sheaths of energy. It is these sheaths which give you form, the senses, appetite, the capacity to consume, the capacity to know, the capacity to become self-realised. When one is self-realised, one is universal, all-pervading, like the Sun.

Vishwarupa refers to the manifest universe. There are seven known universes or realms/worlds/planes of existence:

  • Bhu loka – the earthly world
  • Bhuvah loka – the atmosphere
  • Suvaha (or svar) loka – Heaven
  • Mahar loka – the realm of the Cosmic Law
  • Janah loka – the World of Origins
  • Tapah loka – the World of Yogic Power
  • Sathya loka – the Sphere of Truth

The respective planetary karakas or rulers of these known universes or realms/worlds/planes of existence are as follows:

  • Bhu loka – Mars
  • Bhuvah loka – Sun
  • Suvaha (or svar) loka – Venus
  • Mahar loka – Mercury
  • Jana loka – Moon
  • Tapa loka – Saturn
  • Sathya loka – Jupiter

Vedanta reveals that there are multiple worlds. Just as the planets exist as energies within the human person as forces of light doing their duty (vide the birth chart or horoscope), so also, the entire universe and all worlds exist within the human person. There are seven higher worlds (listed above) and seven lower worlds (below the hips) within the human. The Sun, as visvarupaya namaha, is the manifest form of all the worlds and all of creation. Without light, there is no creation. Hence, Sun is visvarupaya namaha.

Lokaksema or Lokakshema is a Sanskrit word meaning global wellbeing. Loka means world and Kshema means welfare in Sanskrit. This is normally used in the context of various prayers and rituals performed in Hinduism. Most of the Hindu rituals end with a generic prayers such as Loka Samastha Sukino Bhavantu – meaning “May all the worlds be happy!”, in translation, May all (samastah) the worlds (loka) become (bhavantu) happy (sukhino).


Om Visvarupaya Namaha – salutations to the One who is the form of the all-pervading manifest Universe


Download 108 Names of Surya, the Sun



CC BY-NC 4.0